Medicine for icky days

Ill today.  Called in sick and then sat down on the sofa for a nap and woke about three hours later, most of the day wasted.  So instead of doing anything constructive (I only managed a few pages of Under Heaven before I passed out, and I haven’t even touched the WIP) I have been pootling around online trying to find things that make me feel better.

So here’s a list of things I like, in video form.

He’s a magnet for controversy, Johnny Weir is.  And I love him for it.  Whether it’s PETA taking issue with his liking for fur (he has a list of favourite things on his website and includes a section on favourite furs) or the “gay jibes” after the Vancouver Olympics, or even how he’s recently been deemed not “family friendly” enough for the Stars On Ice tour in the US, the boy is a classy act and deals with everything brilliantly.  Not only that – he does routines set to Lady Gaga, one of his idols, whose poster he took with him to Vancouver, and is debuting his Bad Romance routine in April.  I can’t wait.  He hasn’t got the long-limbed elegance of Evan Lyscek or Plushenko’s precision, but he has flamboyance and creativity and is totally original, completely unafraid.  I love him for it.

Vicky Butterfly is one of my favourite performers ever, let alone favourite burlesque dancer.  She’s been in music videos, films and all sorts of productions, including performing at the opening of the Peacock in Clapham over a year ago, where I got to see her perform in person without realizing she’d be there!  She’s a trained dancer and it shows.  All her routines are beautiful, exotic, comic in turns, and as well as the popular 1940’s/50’s style burlesque that ends up everywhere these days, her work is clearly influenced by the flappers from the 1920’s, the pre-Raphaelites and moments of surrealism.  Check out her routines on youtube and see her live asap!

Honestly.  Gerard Hoffnung has been one of those generational casualties, a genius who slipped between the cracks over the decades, though his material has endured in the darkest reaches of the internet.  My dad played this to me a couple of years ago and I was cracking up in the manner of plates during a domestic row.  Truly brilliant.  The rest of this recording (the whole routine, recorded at the Oxford Union, lasted half an hour) is splendid too, but the Bricklayer section is just sublime.

And now I am going to read my book and go to bed.

Leave a Reply

